Gmail has launched an “undo send” option for its email users after years of experimenting with the feature.Users of Google’s email service will get a cancellation option of five, 10, 20 or 30 seconds to retrieve misdirected emails.
The news will answer the prayers of those prone to sending rashly worded missives, unintentionally hitting “reply all”, or sending typo-laden messages.
Users will need to go into their settings to enable the feature, which is by default disabled.
After an email has been dispatched, a thin yellow bar will appear at the top of the screen, giving users the chance to cancel its delivery.
The feature has actually been offered by Gmail for several years, but only to users enrolled in its “experimental labs” programme.
The tool works only when emails are sent from laptops, not from tablets or smartphones.